Why users can create manual logs while they are assigned to another vehicle?

Applies To

  • Geotab Drive 
  • MyGeotab 
  • Hours of Service (HOS) 

Answer

It's handled this way in case drivers want to add logs in the past for a device they are no longer assigned to. 

Additional Notes

  • In Geotab Drive, you can add logs manually for any device you want even if you aren't technically assigned to that device. It should all be audited to tell you what happened. 
  • In other words, you could have an automatic log assigned to Driver A, and at the exact same time have a manual log for the same device assigned to driver B. 
  • Manual logs, unlike automatic logs on their own, aren't shifted to another driver due to driver changes.